In limbo, or ‘how to eat healthy whilst living in a hotel room’.

January 10, 2012 at 9:25 pm 1 comment

Hellloooo there.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have moved states recently. Because it was all so sudden, I didn’t really get a chance to find an apartment in Brisvegas, so I have been ‘living’ in a hotel room. I’m here until the 23rd of January, and have been here since the 2nd!! As some of you may know, hotel rooms aren’t exactly known for their….fridge space. I’ve had to improvise a little in order to stay healthy and happy while still managing to fit everything in my teensy fridge!!

As you can see, it’s not exactly the biggest fridge in the world. The two shelves in it have my stuff in them, some salad and some fruit. I’ve rearranged the mini-bar items so that I could fit more in. I also have salad dressing down the bottom, next to the beer πŸ˜‰

Some tips for eating healthily whilst staying/living in a hotel room:

Containers: Containers will be your saviour when it comes to making food easier to fit into the mini bar/fridge. Cutting up salad items such as cucumber, lettuce and tomatoes and putting them in containers can really be a space saver!

Buy only what you need: Buying too much food will ultimately lead to wastage, which is never a good thing in my opinion. Buy smaller amounts – you can always pick up more if needed.

Get creative: You might not be able to eat everything you usually do while you’re staying in the hotel, but don’t worry. It’s not forever! Utilise the appliances that the room has, such as a kettle or a microwave. Plan your meals a little, but also be ready for improvisation! Living on oatmeal, fruit, nuts and salad is not that bad if you get creative πŸ˜‰

I hope you guys liked my tips – if you have any others to add, let me know!

Anyway, it’s time for me to go, bed time (yes I am a senior citizen sometimes).

Q: Have you ever stayed in a hotel for an extended period of time?? What did you do to eat healthily while still having fun staying there??

A x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I have no idea. Time flies

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  January 12, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Mini fridges are not ok 😦 I agree with your tips on staying healthy in a hotel room, especially not buying to much because it will most definitly get wasted. Larabars/fruit/veggies that can be chopped up and eaten like carrots/peppers are totes the best!

    Lol senior citizen bed time, not a bad thing at all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


