Eating like a child.

September 5, 2011 at 3:51 am 6 comments

Hello lovelies..although I’m not too sure at the moment that I have ANY readers!

Today I wanted to foray back into the blogging world by discussing something pretty important – the G word. That’s right,

Guilt.

You know what I’m talking about. That feeling that creeps up, in the pit of your stomach. It may be after eating a cookie, fast food, or even just eating full stop. But whatever you do, it’s hard to avoid guilt.

This past weekend, I was at my grandparent’s house for father’s day, and I noticed how carefree my little cousins were. R is 6, and T is 8, and both are soooo cute (case in point, they’re related to me 😉 )….but anyway. Back to the story. I was watching them play around, and run riot with all their energy, as kids tend to do, and then it came to lunch time. Rather than subscribing to ‘what is supposed to be eaten’ like all us teens/adults, they pecked at food, then came back later and ate some more, but only when they were hungry. And they didn’t feel guilty at all.

The difference between children and adults (or even teenagers) is that they eat what they want, when they want, and only how much they need. Sure, they’ll eat McDonald’s now and then if they are allowed to/want to, or a cookie and cupcake, but they will stop when they’re full. If they aren’t hungry, they won’t eat. They expend energy not because they want to burn calories, but because they want to have fun. Isn’t this how we should all be? If we could take this tips from our own childhood, how much happier could we be? How much more relaxed? No longer held back by societal pressures on food and exercise, but intuitively in touch with our own bodies.

Now that I’ve put my two cents in, back to work.

Two hours to go!! 😦

Q: Do you eat intuitively? If so, how did you become more in touch with your body?

A x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

…September? Already? Back in the swing of things

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies)  |  September 5, 2011 at 6:13 am

    i wish we could aLL have the intuitiveness of children!

    Reply
  • 2. allieksmith  |  September 5, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Great point! I think adults worry so much about food .. if only we could all be kids again 😉

    Reply
  • 3. buttonss - Cherie  |  September 18, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Ah great post!!
    I do wish I could go back to the days of thinking like this!

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah  |  September 21, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Now that I’m back to blogging, totalllly a full time reader 🙂 Creeper status much?

    I hear you on guilt, It’s tough. I’m not sure when or why society began to place so much pressure onto teens/adults with food and nutrition. Whats the big deal anyways? Why it isn’t allowed to simply be ‘eat when hungry, listen to body, eat foods grown from ground more than man made BUT don’thaveacowifyoueatsomethingmanmade.’

    Let’s all be kids again

    Reply
  • 5. Mariel (@Marielxox16)  |  October 3, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    thank you for your comment!! xox love ur blog 2!!! i def believe in not feeling guilty!

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica  |  October 3, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I try to eat intuitively but it’s hard not to think…I should eat this because it’s good for me or I shouldn’t eat that because it’s not etc.

    I have had the same thought before. It’s such a shame that we lose that care-free attitude to food. The not having a notion of consequence with food would make us all more intuitive I think!

    Love this post! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


